The International Communication Section (ICOMM)

of the International Studies Association

Best Paper Award

The International Communication Best Paper Award is presented on an annual basis to an author (or authors) of a paper presented at the previous year’s ISA Annual Convention that makes an original and important contribution to the field of International Communication.

ISA ICOMM 2018 Best Paper Award Nominations

The International Communication Best Paper Award is presented on an annual basis to an author (or authors) of a paper presented at the previous annual convention that makes an original and important contribution to the field of international communication. The 2018 Award will be presented to the author(s) of the best paper presented at ISA 2017. The Committee is currently accepting nominations (including self-nominations) of papers that were presented in a panel or poster session sponsored by the International Communication Section (ICOMM) at the 2017 Annual Meeting of the International Studies Association.

Recipients must meet the Following Criteria

  • Recipients must be a current member of ISA.
  • The nomination must be made by a member of the International Communication Section.


  • The recipient will receive a plaque.
  • The winner of the award will be recognized at the International Communication Section Business Meeting and Reception.
  • The winner will chair the Best Paper Selection Committee for ISA 2019.

Apply For This Award

  • Nominations are due by July 15, 2017.
  • To nominate a paper, please follow this link. Although it is optional, it is highly recommended that you include a cover letter that explains the reasons for nomination with the submission.
  • Additional questions and inquiries can be address to the Chair of the Paper Award Committee Efe Sevin.

2018 Best Paper Award Committee Members

  • Efe Sevin, Reinhardt University (Chair)
  • Caitlin Byrne, Griffith University, Griffith Asia Institute
  • Senem Cevik, University of California, Irvine
  • Ilan Manor, University of Oxford

ISA ICOMM 2018 Best Paper Award Winner

Stanislav Budnitsky – PhD Candidate, Carleton University – “Digital Nationalism: Post-Soviet Identity Building and Internet Governance in Estonia”

This paper addresses the question of how national identity relates to countries’ information policy and discourse. To this end, it examines how Estonia’s attempts to present its identity as a Western liberal democracy after 1991 have informed its self-branding as a global champion of digital technologies and the internet freedom movement. The paper analyzes Estonia’s nation- and state-building discourse and its promotional digital discourse, known as e-Estonia: The Digital Society, to illustrate the analytical value of situating studies of technological histories within their respective socio-cultural contexts.

ISA ICOMM Award (Budnitsky)Stanislav Budnitsky is a PhD Candidate in Communication at Carleton University (Canada). His dissertation bridges theories of nationalism, strategic communication, and internet governance in order to develop an analytical framework, which accounts for the relationship between nationalism and global digital politics. Stanislav previously undertook research at the Berkman Klein Center for Internet and Society at Harvard University and Annenberg School for Communication at the University of Pennsylvania. His writings have appeared in the International Journal of Communication, USC Center on Public Diplomacy blog, and an edited collection “The Net and the Nation State: Multidisciplinary Perspectives on Internet Governance,” and are forthcoming in the European Journal of Cultural Studies. Stanislav tweets at @sbudnitsky.


ISA ICOMM 2017 Best Paper Award Winner

Efe Sevin, Post Doctoral Research, University of Fribourg – ” Traditional Meets Digital: Diplomatic Processes on Social Media,”

The winner of the award for 2017 is Efe Sevin (University of Fribourg, Department of Communication and Media Research) for his paper “Traditional Meets Digital: Diplomatic Processes on Social Media.” Looking at two data sets of relations among international actors and foreign policy leaders, the paper uses social network analysis methods to analyze relations that take place on digital platforms that approximate traditional diplomatic processes, yet may not necessarily yield influence. The paper illustrates interdisciplinary methods and perspectives, while making the case for more investigation of the digital diplomacy of middle powers.

About Efe Sevin: Efe Sevin (Ph.D., American University) is a post-doctoral Research 11114265_10152647465982085_514475648278095481_o.jpgFellow at the Department of Media and Communication Research, University of Fribourg (Switzerland). His current research focuses on the role of nation branding and public diplomacy campaigns on achieving political goals and foreign policy objectives. Before joining University of Fribourg, Efe was a faculty member at the Department of Public Relations and Information of Kadir Has University (Istanbul Turkey). His works have been published in several academic journals and books including American Behavioral Scientist, Public Relations Review, and Cities.

Previous Winners

    • 2017 – Efe Sevin, Post Doctoral Research, University of Fribourg – ” Traditional Meets Digital: Diplomatic Processes on Social Media.”
    • 2016 – Rhys Crilley,  Post Doctoral Researcher, University of Birmingham – “Through the Mud and the Blood to the Chatroom Beyond: The British Army on Facebook 2009-2012.”
    • 2015 – Milton Mueller, Professor, Syracuse University – “Are We in a Digital Cold War.” 
    • 2013 – Will Youmans, Assistant Professor, George Washington University School of Media and Public Affairs, “Reverse Engineering a Strategic Communication Campaign via Textual Analysis: The Domestic Foreign Policy of the CIA’s Recruitment Efforts in Arab Detroit.”
    • 2012 – R.S. Zahana, Associate Professor, American University, School of International Studies, “Relational Spheres and the Primacy of Domestic and Diaspora Publics in Global Public Diplomacy.”
    • 2011 – Ronald Deibert, Rafal Rohozinski, and Masashi Crete-Nishihata “Cyclones in Cyberspace: Information Shaping and Denial in the 2008 South Ossetia War.”
    • 2009 – Amy Below and Jenifer Whitten-Woodring “Climate Change in the News Media and U.S. Environmental Foreign Policy.”
  • A ICOMM 2016 Best Paper Award Winner


6 comments on “Best Paper Award

  1. Pingback: ICOMM at ISA 2015 in New Orleans | The International Communication Section (ICOMM)

  2. Pingback: April 2015 ISAICOMM Announcements | The International Communication Section (ICOMM)

  3. Pingback: Rhys Crilley Wins the ISAICOMM 2016 Best Paper Award | The International Communication Section (ICOMM)

  4. Pingback: ICOMM Best Paper Award – Call for Nominations | The International Communication Section (ICOMM)

  5. Pingback: 2017 ISA ICOMM Awards Announced | The International Communication Section (ICOMM)

  6. Pingback: #ISAICOMM Best Paper Award Extended to August 15th | The International Communication Section (ICOMM)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: